Who are you calling a technician?

I’ve been surfing the internet today reading other blogger’s posts and catching up on what the latest and greatest news is in the field of radiography.  I was excited to see that some fellow bloggers in the field of radiology were given some recognition on a top 50 list.  I clicked over to the “Top 50 Radiology and Sonography Technician Blogs”.  Now it may seem like a little thing, but there is a huge difference between a Technician and a Technologist.

I went to post in reply to this list and found that there was not a place to post, and further yet found that it was written to try and recruit people to sign up for a Radiology Technician School.  You could click to find a place to become a Radiology Technician, even a Radiologist.

I love this quote from x-rayschools.net

“It’s not as interesting a question as “X-Ray Technologist vs. X-Ray Technician: Who Would Win in a Steel Cage Death Match?”, but it’s important nonetheless to know that there is indeed a difference between the two titles, even though they’re often used interchangeably.”

The difference is that the Technologist has had formal education in the field of radiography.  Most Radiologic Technology courses when completed meet the requirements for an Associates Degree.  Also upon completion of the program they sit for the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists board examination.( http://www.arrt.org )

I was shocked to see these bloggers giving thanks for making the list, and not one person making the correction that they themselves are actually Radiographers, or Radiological Technologists.  Especially after finding out the list was made for the purpose of advertising schools that would then produce Radiologic Technologists, not Technicians.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not one to correct everyone about this mistake it is a very common error.  I however think those that have completed their formal education and worked very hard to earn the right to be called Technologists should do so proudly.  For those Radiologic Technologists that have passed their ARRT registry be proud to have the initials RT(R) to show you are in fact a Registered Radiologic Technologist.

I feel that if you are going to post about a topic, you should do some research and find out a little about it.  A quick google search would let you know that you are posting about one thing and advertising another.

Congratulations to all of those Registered Radiologic Technologists out there for all your hard work and dedication to your field of expertise!

4 thoughts on “Who are you calling a technician?

  1. As a radiologist, people will occasionally say, “Oh, you’re not a real doctor.” I just smile and find some polite way to end the conversation. The right people know, and that’s all that matters.

    Anyone can make a top 50 list.

    -DrC

  2. I’m a radiologist myself and face the same fate as “DrC”.
    Well, you get used to it…It only took 15 years of medical school, internship, residency and fellowship for me to become something what most patients think is not a real doctor.
    😉

    Slightly distracted – let’s go back to the original article about technicians and technologists.
    To be honest – I also interexchanged the words technicians and technologists – due to my innocence. For that I apologize – now I know better!

Leave a comment